Because of the progress in medicine, people are living longer now. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

The author claims that due to the advancements in medicine field, the life span of people has increased. I completely agree with the author in this standpoint but I also believe that advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages.

The medicine field has seen enormous progress in the recent past with new medicines being discovered every minute. In my opinion, the progress of any nation can be judged by its advancements in the field of science and medicine. An example to notice is the medicine for cancer which was considered impossible fifty to sixty years ago but now more advanced medicines have been discovered which can tackle different variants of the cancer causing cells. this progress has definetely improved lives of lot of people. people are now confident that any ailment can be cured owing to the fact that a lot scientists bring breakthroughs in the field of medicine. More youngsters want to pursue this field due to the laurels it can bring for the scientific community.

However, considering this progress in medicine, it feels dangerous due to the lot of incidents that has happened. To cite an example, a lot of scientists spend majority of their time analysing different chemicals and their reaction with one another. In this process, a lot of new drugs have been discovered which have proven to be detrimental to the health of people especially youngsters. due to some lot of scientists in greed for money, sell these medicines to multi-national corporations which eventually take its place in the market and the results were fatal too. Furthermore, since the life span of people have increased, and considering the fact that the birth rate is still high, more people now compete for a limited number of resources which has led to a lot of different crisis in different countries. An example would be for the case of India, which has recently overtook China in being the most populous country in the world, where the birth rate is ever increasing and with more and more medicines being discovered, there is a never ending fight for resources in the country.

In conclusion, even though there are a lot of pros to the advancements in the medicine, but it is also a double-edged sword with the cons outweighing the advantages which can be fatal to life too.