Being a celebrity such as famous film star or sports personality brings problems as well as benefits Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems

Nowadays, being a prominent personality is desirable to many people. Although there are undeniable advantages of being famous, I believe that it begets more challenges than benefits.

Arguably, people can substantially benefit once they have achieved stardom. As far as financial rewards are concerned, it is obvious that celebrities are able to earn a great deal of money. Their sources of income are not limited to their professions as, for example, actors, singers or athletes, but also endorsement for products and brands thanks to their influence on people who are targeted customers. In addition, having reputation allows them to be respected by the public. Apparently, celebrities have talents in certain areas such as music, art or sport which fascinate a large number of people. It means that they can receive admiration and recognition from them. This, for some individuals, creates a sense of satisfaction.

Despite the upsides, I still maintain my position that being a star is more likely to be associated with troubles rather than pleasure. It is because in order to retain their stardom, celebrities have to give up their privacy, health and wellbeing. Firstly, constant appearance in the media could mean letting their personal life be publicly discussed or even criticized on newspapers, magazines and social media. This can be intrusive since they are regularly followed by paparazzi whose attempt is to make a good headline and attract more viewers. More importantly, they are likely to be relentlessly pressured to work in order to keep gaining their coverage in the media. This can result in physical and mental exhaustion. An painful example is Avicii, a well-known musician adored by millions of people and a billionaire living a fancy life, yet he decided to take his own life after a long time suffering from severe kidney damages and depression as a result of endless touring all over the world in several years. Clearly, in this situation, financial satisfaction and adoration of others cannot offset the cost of being famous.

In conclusion, being a celebrity could allows people to build great wealth to live a comfortable life and give them the pleasure for being widely admired. However, it seems to me that the pressure is rather unbearable since they have to sacrifice their private life, health and wellbeing in exchange for fame.