Some opinions believe that the best way to alleviate growing crime in youth generation is to support their parents with more parental skills. While it is clear that parents play an indispensable role in bringing up their children to be good citizens, I think that parental skills are not enough to mitigate youth crime.

Parents who are fitted with parental skills can instruct their children better and reduce youth criminals. Firstly, parents who are educated to have a good social conscience can raise their children’s awareness of distinguishing legal and illegal activities. It is clear that family plays an important role in shaping a child’s personalities, and therefore, if father and mother always respect each other, this makes a mirror for their children to avoid violent crimes. Secondly, parental involvement would enable children to eliminate bad social relationships, in which young people can turn to crime. Mutual understanding and respecting for children are essential to help young generation get a sense of convenience as they are taught about right moral values from their parents rather than immersing in serious relationships.

Nevertheless, governments should still impose many other approaches to address youth crimes apart from parental skills. From the perspective of legislation, juvenile offenders should be tough on their crimes and even served the prison sentence so that the laws can acts as a deterrent to more severe crimes. Furthermore, although a policy of zero tolerance is necessary, governments should give youth criminals a chance to rehabilitation and if they have good behaviours during the period of punishments. Consequently, while they can feel the full weight of the law through strict punishments, they still can make an effort to get chances to make a fresh start after being released back into society.

In conclusion, although I partially agree that communities would be better if parents are fitted with parental abilities, I think it is better if governments impose many strict punishments on young offenders to against them not to commit illegal activities again.