In many countries the cost of living is rising. What are the effects on individuals and society? What measures can be taken to deal with this problem?

It is apparent that the expenditure which residents have to spend on living is significantly increasing. While it is obvious that this trend exerts many negative impacts on both customers and society, there are many initiatives to cope with this problem.

In terms of the effects of this trend, I think that this trend causes many negative impacts on both buyers and society. Firstly, the price escalation in living costs can significantly impact on customers, especially the grass roots. For example, people who are poverty-stricken have to struggle with sweated labour to possess essentials such as food and clothes. Secondly, society possibly has to shoulder a heavier burden of unemployment benefits and migration of labour. If the living cost rises, it is clear that many companies would contract their business. Consequently, more employees can be fired to maximize profit. In addition, many nations have to deal with complex and uncontrollable migrations both legally and illegally, in which many people believe that they would have better job prospects in other places to meet increasingly their daily demands.

However, this trend can be alleviated by many efficient measures. One of the solutions is that relentless efforts of scientists to find out more technological breakthroughs in manufacturing, which drop the price of domestic products down. For example, in the results of the recent advances in energy technology which have helped people use effectively electricity converted from the sunshine, the living expense is allocated for electricity can be decreased domestically. Another remedy is that governments should adopt more rigorous set of efficient and accountable regulations to solve the financial problems which potentially contribute to the increase of inflation.

In conclusion, it is clear that the residents have to spend more money on their living costs. While I believe that both individuals and governments are influenced by this trend, it can be taken over by the efforts of both authorities and scientists.