Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is better environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Since transporting facilities have been improved day by day, more foods are brought to remote areas from their producing locations. Some opinions assume that we should consume local food because of environmental and economic benefits. While there are some obvious advantages regarding to eating imported products, I would argue that the advantages can not outweight its disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is clear that consuming imported foods has benefits. Firstly, indigenious people can taste a diverse range of cuisine without travelling. Fruits are typical examples as many European countries concentrate on exporting their fruits such as cherries or kiwis, which are quite hard to flourish in Asian areas. Secondly, the surge in international trades help global companies in the food sector get more profits and grow their businesses. It is clear that while the domestic demand is only at a certain extent, enterprises can increase their sales by breaking into foreign markets.

On the other hand, although there are benefits derived from imported foods, I believe that it is better if we opt for domestic foods. From an environmental perspective, eating local foods significantly contributes to cut down on emissions regarding to food transportation. Food miles require a considerable amount of fossil fuel by trains, trucks and even planes, which exarcebate environmental issues like greenhouse effect and climate change. In terms of economic issues, domestic food producers probably go out of their businesses if native dwellers can not make the most of native food. Worse still, since the major amount of food is provided by foreign producers, local authorities have to take food security issues into consideration.

In conclusion, while we can not deny the importance of imported food, I believe that its disadvantages are too huge to replace local products’ roles because of both economic and environmental reasons.