International travel is becoming cheaper and cheaper, and more countries are now opening their doors to foreign visitors. Do you think that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is clear that international travel trend has substantially increased recently because many governments adopted policies associated with opening their doors to foreigners and the travel cost is more affordable. While this trend has some advantages, I believe that the disadvantages can not be outweighed.

On the one hand, the increase in the number of foreign travelers helps to improve native residents’ lives and enhance the national image. From an economic perspective, if there are more foreign visitors, indigenous dwellers can grow their businesses based on traditional handicrafts. This trend acts as a remedy for unemployment and poverty in particular nations, and therefore, the economic situation in attractions where attract many visitors has been significantly improved. Furthermore, international travel is actually an instrument that governments use to propagate the national traditions. In other words, opening the national doors to foreign visitors helps to spread intangible traditional heritages out the rest of the world such as a dance, songs and even belief.

On the other hand, in a sensible way, it is apparent that there are many environmental and economic issues derived from foreign tourists. Firstly, the increase of the amount of travelling tours would cause locally environmental degradation. For example, many natives’ lives and attractions have been negatively impacted stem from spitting and littering indiscriminately of foreign visitors. Secondly, governments open their national doors to foreign visitors partly is to promote native products, meanwhile, some tourists prefer bringing their own goods which sometimes illegally. In the American customs, there are tons of agricultural products, which are ground and removed every year due to illegal hiding. Some of them used to spread serious outbreaks for the whole of American agriculture.

In conclusion, travelling other nations become cheaper and governments also express a harmony with foreign visitors through policies. Although it is beneficial that countries open doors, I think that the disadvantages obviously overweigh the advantages.