Some people argue that we should do research into our family history. Others agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future generations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that we should launch investigations on our family history. The opposite point of view think that we should concentrate on the present and future generations. While it is clear that knowing the previous generations is very important, I believe that we should also research the following ones.

On the one hand, it is clear that the information which is related to our ancestors has not only cultural benefits but also medical. From the perspective of culture, researches associated with pedigrees provide progeny with a link to their root. If our children know that where their family originated and what precious traditions they need to be preserved, they will easily shape consciousness about protecting their parentage’s tangible traditional heritages. In terms of medical, the discoveries related to our ancestors help doctors to reveal a huge amount of medical information in searching for a cure. There are more and more parents who spent money on launching full-scale genealogical investigations to screen for hereditary diseases, which their children possibly are infected.

On the other hand, I think that it is beneficial if we can focus on the present and anticipate the future states. Firstly, people who live in the contemporary generation can set sensible moral examples to youngsters. Although it is clear that teachers can deliver their lectures about historical famous celebrity to children in schools, it is really hard for kids to imagine who they are and how they live. Meanwhile, they easily imitate patterns of behaviour to shape their personalities from surrounding people, especially parents, who live in the present. Secondly, we should look forward to the future to forecast advantages and disadvantages which we have to cope with. Our present globe has many instabilities associated with environment such as global warming and habitat destruction, and therefore, understanding and forecasting possible problems helps us to early find out effective solutions.

In conclusion, while I agree that we should conduct more research to explore our ancestry, this is by no mean that we should ignore the present and future.