A popular belief in many countries is that schools should concentrate on making the grade and passing exams, while other skills such as cookery, dressmaking, and woodwork can be supported by family members and friends. While I partly agree that teachers have to exert high pressure on their students through formal examinations and make a good-grade for many reasons, I believe that we cannot ignore the importance of other necessary abilities.

On the one hand, most schools today have to take exam-driven curriculums into consideration for many reasons. Firstly, teachers cannot make full-scale assessments unless their students sit an exam, and therefore, teachers tend to focus too much on encouraging learners to reach academic accomplishments. For example, teachers cannot recognize whether or not their students can understand their mathematics lectures, so they need to conduct exams to receive feedback through students’ scores. Secondly, many companies prioritize qualifications while carrying out recruitments, which leads schools to allocate a substantial amount of school time on academic certificates rather than other skills.

On the other hand, it is clear that we cannot deny the significance of academic examinations, however, I believe that schools still should help children to improve necessary skills. In a practical way, apart from academic high-fliers in the classes, some students who fall behind their study may need essential skills such as cookery or woodwork to make ends meet in case they drop out of their colleges. Furthermore, school systems are ideal places to study living skills, in which they can be team-players or study from others under professional supervision of nifty teachers.

In conclusion, although formal examinations and making the grade are instrumental in education nowadays, I think that it is better if students have more extra-curricular activities such as cookery, dressmaking, and woodwork that are organized by skillful supervisors.