People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

Humans have actually confronted more environmental issues today than ever before, and therefore, many opinions think that governments should push the cost of gasoline up so that we can mitigate these problems. While there are some benefits associated with this solution, I think that it is better if governments also carry out some other remedies apart from monetary approach.

On the one hand, governments can partially alliviate environmental problems by rising the cost of fuel on drivers. From an perspective of economy, drivers have to re-calculate the expenditure they have to spend compared to profit they gain. It is clear that if the cost of fuel becomes more expensive, they may have to decrease the amount of fuel. Consequently, governments can reduce the amount of emission being known as cause of ozone degradation and climate change. Furthermore, public budget obviously gains more profit from increase of fuel price. In practical way, authorities should allocate additional tax derived from fuel on researching alternative sources of energy which is more sustainable and renewable. For example, it is undoubted that many companies nowadays are manufacturing a variety of electric cars, which are more environmentally friendly than conventional vehicles.

On the other hand, if governments merely concentrate on the cost of fuel, they can not thoroughly solve environmental problems, so they should undertake many other approaches. Firstly, while emission from transportation is only one of main culprits which is responsible for greenhouse effect and climate change, humans have witnessed a significant amount of contaminants are originated from industrialisation. Governments should impose a policy of zero tolerance on companies and individuals who are found guilty of discharging chemical waste directly into the habitats. Secondly, high greening level also is one of the effective solutions that governments should be concerned. For example, national and local governments should raise awareness of the public to increase the number of trees on their areas and re-green denuded locations.

In conclusion, although I partially agree that increasing the cost of fuel is really a solution to solve environmental issues, I believe that governments should reduce emissions made from other sectors and plant more trees.