At schools, students should only be taught academic knowledge to pass the exams, and skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should be learned from family and friends. To what exteny do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, due to the necessity of acquiring academic knowledge to get high-enough scores of formal examinations, some people suggest the idea that schools should only focus on what would help students to get that achievements, and ignore all other practical skills which could be learnt outside the academic environment. I totally agree with this opinion.

It is certainly true that learning academic subjects is pivotal for our contemporary students. From social perspective, governments in nearly all countries around the world are establishing compulsory education system in which every citizen has to go through until a certain age, in order to tackle and prevent many social issues like poverty, unemployment and crime. This invisibly forces all students to accomplish education from primary to tertiary level after a certain amount of time, which means that they have to pass formal examinations in particular ages. For that reason, they only need intellectual skills learnt from mandatory subjects like mathematics and languages only.

In terms of practical skills like cookery, dressing and woodwork, I strongly believe that these skills are not necessary for students in schools. Firstly, students could only learn these skills at introductory levels and never could continue learning for a long time in comparison with academic ones. As a result, they might have to sacrifice their time to learn the skills not as valuable as calculating, reading and writing abilities in both the present, for their academic exams, and the future, for the career prospects. Secondly, family and friends should be the sources from which students could learn the vocational skills. It would not be compulsory for the students to learn as in the school, and they could learn freely based on their specific desire and cultural background.

In conclusion, I absolutely advocate the argument that schools should be the place for students to accumulate knowledge in academic subjects only, not to even familiarize themselves with non-academic skills like cooking or dressing.