Some people think that cultural traditions will be destroyed if they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. others, however, believe that is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

When it comes to maintaining, people are divided on whether tourism is a good answer for that or the culprit of gradual cultural losses. Personally, I believe that tourism would only increase the likelihood of traditions disappearance due to its lucrativeness.

It is understandable why some people suggest the ideas of using tourism to preserve traditional customs. They usually say that local authorities must depend on certain financial sources to support any social campaigns or events targeting maintaining their traditions. However, this would make the native people who work in local tourist industry using the traditions to excite foreign visitors in various ways to maximize profits rather than as a part of their life. As a result, the traditions in the long term would lose their fundamental functions which they have had for a long time.

The worry about losing culture because of tourism is much more worth considered. Apart from the reason of the unconscious alteration of traditions for tourist purposes, local culture might as well be under pressure of foreign influences. Travellers from different parts of the world often bring their customs and behaviours to any places they visit, some could be highly exciting and attractive to local inhabitants compared to native ones. For example, in many mountainous areas in Vietnam, traditional songs were very popular among people in previous generations, but their contemporary descendants, because of the openness to tourists from outside areas, only listen to electronic music from more developed regions.

In conclusion, although it might be theoretically true that money from tourism could help save many traditions, I would argue that it is not the suitable strategy to prevent local culture from dying out. We should only maintain the customs if they are still meaningful to people’s lives, and not let them be impacted by any outsiders.