Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given in the protection of wild animals and birds. Do you agree or disagree about this opinion?

It is clear that humans nowadays are making an effort in mitigating environmental issues, in which many people think that governments allocate too much resources and awareness on protecting wild animals and birds. Although I partially agree that we sometimes overshoot, I believe that conservation is too important to ignore.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why I think we are exaggerating the problem. Firstly, media today can carry out breaking news faster than ever before, which leads to excessively raise public awareness about animal-related activities. Katy Perry is a typical example when PETE – an animal protecting organisations accused her of abusing tigers and elephants in her new music video “Roar” for commercial purposes while she did not. Secondly, although we totally agree that protecting wild life is necessary, goverments still remains many social issues which need to be addressed. For example, in many undeveloped countries, authorities should allocate more resources on diminishing poverty and hunger rather than providing subsidies for preserving funds.

On the other hand, although we nowadays are aware of protecting animals and birds too much, we have many undoubted reasons for that. In terms of medication, each species plays important role in searching for cure and even medical researches. Chimpanzee is a case in point, some scientific findings indicated that this species which had the same genetic figures with humans can protect themselves from infection of Covid-19, this maybe a sight at the end of tunnel. Another reason is that we cannot completely understand importance of each species in the ecosystem, so the complete dissapperance of a certain species probably leads to disrupt of the whole food chain. For example, Chinese governments used to impose some policies to encourage their citizens to eradicate sparrow, consequently, they had to pay dearly for population explosion of pests on their farms.

In conclusion, although I also think that we are concerned about the protection of wild animals and birds too much, I believe this trend stems from some reasonable causes.