Many seniors today till have to compete with youngsters to seek jobs. While this trend results in some problems, we can mitigate by some interventions.

In terms of drawbacks, older competitors may cause some negative effects. Firstly, the surge in older applicants can dominate the significant number of vacancies in a fiercely competitive labour market today. Many students who graduate from universities every year have a thirst for jobs in order to make ends meet, however, they have to fiercely compete with older counterparts who have more experiences. Secondly, it is clear that younger employees have better adaptability than older ones, and therefore, if workforces are accounted for a major part by seniors, it probably leads to less flexibility and slow response to environmental changes, especially when breaking into a new market.

Nevertheless, this trend can be tackled in some ways, which can be implemented by governments and individuals. Firstly, governments should regulate unemployment rate to meet labour demand in their countries. Unless governments’ remedies are effective, there would be an increasing trend of crimes and poverty due to the high unemployment rate among youngsters. Secondly, companies’ boards should encourage youngsters to support older employees so that they can adapt better to changes instead of making cutbacks at their workforces. Perfect combinations between young people’s adaptabilities and the old’s experiences are proved to help companies to gain the best competitive edges.

In conclusion, while a working population is occupied with high-age those can lead to some disadvantages, I believe that we totally overcome the disadvantages by efforts of both governments and individuals.