More and more people in the city live in homes with small spaces or no outdoor areas Do you think it is a negative or positive development

It is apparent that more and more residents have no enough money to spend on spacious accommodations or having outdoor areas. Although there are many disadvantages attributed to this trend, I think that it brings us some positive effects.

On the one hand, residents who dwell in small houses may confront with some problems. In terms of living quality, if living space is too narrow, it may negatively influence on settlers’ health. In a detailed explanation, many researchers nowadays reported that urban residents are easily prone to mental problems such as agitated situations or headaches due to damp and cramped living conditions. Furthermore, as the result of limited living ground, houses in the inner city areas have to divide into multiple occupancy, which leads to many inconveniences in life. For example, people who live in these houses definitively have no privacy and have to share kitchens and even bathrooms.

On the other hand, the popularity of these such houses in the real estate market is high thanks to their advantages. Firstly, in developing countries, mass exodus to the cities has resulted for high population density, which leads to many difficulties for governments to cope with increasing accommodation demand. In order to respond to the demand, many skyscrapers comprising smaller flats have constructed as an effective solution, in which many investors gain more profit. Secondly, these homes are really helpful since everything is prohibitively expensive in huge cities. It is undoubted that the cost of accommodation in metropolises is too exorbitant, and therefore, many households that have limited financial background accept to live in cramped houses but affordable.

In conclusion, in many big cities, traditional houses are gradually superseded by homes with small living space and even no garden or yard. Although people face many drawbacks as living in these cramped accommodation, they help governments to offer adequate accommodations for their residents with an affordable expenditure.