Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Many people think that we should cease zoos because of inhumanity, meanwhile, the opposite viewpoint believes that endangered species can be protected by zoos. While it is true that many zoological gardens are vicious, I think that this pattern is still good at protecting wild animals which are on the brink of extinction.

On the one hand, it is clear that living conditions of captive animals are more unpleasant than in natural habitat. Firstly, while animals which dwell in the nature have a large territory to thrive, they have to live in narrow cages if being taken care of by human. As the result of captivity, animals are prone to many diseases such as obesity and even mental disorders due to a sedentary lifestyle. Secondly, some zoo managers recently are accused of considering wild animals as money-making instruments when they force miserable creatures have to shoulder a heavy burden of circus performances. For example, the news coverage has recently carried some stories associated with depletion of animal welfare in the Vietnamese zoos.

On the other hand, it seems to me that zoological gardens still are places which prevent wild animals from extinction. From a medical perspective, zoos bring a better health care to animals thanks to the availability of veterinarians. In the nature, if an animal copes with a severe disease, it has no choice apart from death, whereas zoos usually have a technical staff which can search for a cure in emergency situations. Furthermore, although living conditions are uncomfortable, zoos still are safe areas for endangered species which only survive with a small population. For example, rhinoceros is one of the most endangered species which is usually hunted illegally for their horn. While it is clear that they get more life-threatening conditions in nature, captive systems seem to be safer.

In conclusion, it is clear that captive situation as in zoos is not better than natural life, this is by no mean that we should halt zoos’ presence which helps wild animals not to deal with extinction.