Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a raising concern about the role of zoos whether they are unethical cages or safe places to protect wildlife species. While I tend towards the former view, I must support the latter one. In the scope of this essay, merits of both views are thoroughly discussed.

On the one hand, it is admitted that capturing wild animals in a completely different environment from their own habitats may leave certain detrimental impacts on them. First aspect that should be taken into consideration is the decrease in instinct behaviours. After a long period of time in zoos, being constantly provided with food and other needs, animals will eventually lose the ability of hunting. Thus, if they are released to their initial environment, they might face higher chance of isolation and starving. It is prevalent when a tiger which was born in zoos without the care of his mother and his peers, he is likely to be isolated when he was sent back to the jungle due to the lack of communication ability and hunting skills. Another aspect is that human beings do not have the right to put any species into prisons and doing this may trigger serious anxiety among these miserable creatures. It has become far more normal to see animals acting like robots with routine activities in zoos which is the signal for anxious and stress to entertain people instead of living the natural lives. For these reason, advocate for the ban of zoos do have their own point.

On the other hand, to some extent, having wild animals in zoos is an effective way to protect them especially who are in the endangered list. Firstly, animals in wild environment have to face with numerous threats including the lack of food due to climate change, predators and even natural disasters. In this sense, the steady provision of zoos can be seen from an opposite angle. With the help of a thousand experts in their fields and specialized equipments, wild animals will be able to receive proper care to develop and grow. Secondly, albeit some zoos may use animals as money-making tools, we still have a considerable number of zoos where they have done their best to construct environments which are as similar to the real habitats as possible and tried to teach their animals necessary skills before releasing. In this way, the risks mentioned above might be significant mitigated.

In conclusion, irrespectively to the immoral element of zoos, I believe that the benefit of them can overweight the drawbacks and they should be indispensable places to preserve wildlife animals.