Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Some people condemn that animals that live in a zoo are being ripped off their freedom and should be set free to live in their natural habitats. While I acknowledge that it is inhumane to put animals in cages, I agree with those who consider that zoos can be used to conserve wild animals.

On the one hand, there are known reasons why zoos are being considered cruel. Protestors point out that living in a zoo results in a loss of natural characteristics of wild animals. Research shows that, for example, hunting skills of tamed tigers are not compatible with those living in the wild. Another thing that is being condemned is the behavior of visitors. Some tourists try to provoke animals by poking branches or throwing rocks at animals while they are sleeping.

Despite such negative impacts, It seems to me that zoos can be used to preserve wild animals. First, injured animals from human activities or natural conflicts can be treated in a zoo before reintroducing to the wild. We can cure such animals to ensure that they are able to survive in their natural habitats, which obviously is more aggressive compared to a zoo. These activities not only protect endangered species but also increase proliferation rates. Second, with the right approach, zoos can promote human’s awareness about wildlife and enhance appreciation as well as practical steps to conserve the beauties of wild animals.

In conclusion, in my opinions, zoos can play a role in preserving wild animals provided that we focus on this aspect and impose measures to eliminate unwanted effects.