Some people argue that we should do research into our family history. Others agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future generations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some people argue that family history plays a vital role and knowledge about family ancestors is essential, whereas other people consider that it is the present and future generations that we should pay attention to. In my opinion, historic stories as well as present and future generations are important.

On the one hand, I believe that family history lays the foundation for the development of generations to come. First, the family presents the root of each member, telling stories about how their ancestors made the name for the family and thus, give a strong sense about where they come from. There are trails running in the family and their family name show the position and status. Whenever people hear the name Rothschild, for example, they know that it is a powerful name in financial markets and maybe even has influences all over the world. Second, learning about the family hierarchy is valuable in terms of avoiding past mistakes. It is said that if you do not learn about history, you are doomed to repeat it.

On the other hand, it would be deficient if we ignored the present and future generations – those who will practice family traditions. Descendants are responsible to preserve and reinforce the family name by running the family business. Moreover, the new generations are facing challenges that their parents and grandparents have never known of. This means that if present and future generations immerse in the glamorous history of the family, they might end up giving an end to the family.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both family history and the present and future generations have an equally significant role to play.