Governments investment on arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

While arts such as music and theatre can bring out tremendous benefits for the society, people who advocate for materialistic may argue that the resources channeled into these artistic forms by government is a waste of public money and we should use these money to invest in other services instead. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement.

Firstly, arts can be used as tools for authority to control and adjust citizens’mindsets in such an efficiency way that the need of public services may no longer be necessary. The world of arts contains many kinds of platform and each of these can leave certain impact on individuals who received them. A prevalent example of this is propaganda. They are vivid illustrations with powerful words to announce special days or raise dweller’s awareness of whether the culprit of cigarets or the importance of wearing helmets when we are on the road. By seeing these pictures day by day, we will fully aware of what we should do to protect ourselves from diseases or avoidable transport accidents. Hence, the improvement in hospital is not a burden anymore as the rate of patients decrease gradually.

Secondly, investing in arts is actually a business for enormous profit in return. Music and theatre have become indispensable parts in lives of human beings for centuries due the richness of cultural identities as well as the power to connect people.Thus, supporting potential artists or label companies with certain amount of money at the beginning may eventually brings out much more money under the form of taxes.An example is “Ca trù” , a Vietnamese genre of musical storytelling performed by featuring female vocalists, with origins in northern Viet Nam had received 100 millions Viet Nam dong financial support for maintenance and improvement. Later on, it has contributed to the rapid growth of economy in its region thanks to tourist attraction and helped the government to get back billions within a few years.

In conclusion, the investing of governments in arts is crucial not only for mental but also for economical aspects