government investment in the arts such as music and theatre is a waste of money. government must invest this money in public services instead. to what extend do you agree with this statement?

According to many people, investing money on art projects such as music and art facilities are meaningless. Instead, the government should be investing the money on community programs to meet public requirements such as education or health sectors. I personally disagree with this statement to some extent. this essay will emphasize the reason why both are crucial to our society.

Majority of national income comes from taxes, therefore it should be spent for the community purpose. since education, health, and labour programs are a public basic need, the large sum of national income should invest in these sectors. For instance, providing qualified teacher, funding on national health insurance, developing new health infrastructures such as hospital and health care centre, and creating a job opportunity. As a result, if the public primary need fulfilled and it will lead to the welfare of a country.

Despite the facts state above, it is admittedly that music and art exhibitions are inheritance and a part of the culture, therefore those activities should be preserved and passed to the younger generation. Since the organization which carries on duty to protect cultural heritage generally is a non-profit organization, an endowment from the government is a necessary need. Moreover, art and music performance has greatly advantaged for society, especially young people. Teenager uses it to express themselves by dancing either folklore or modern dance and exploring their creativity.

To sum up, I confidently state that the government should spend a large proportion of the fund in community programs. However, I also assume that funding on futuristic activities is not wasting money.