Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

Although humans have many breakthroughs in the educational field, there still are many illiterates in every corner of the world. While this circumstance is caused by some culprits, we can implement interventions to solve it.

In terms of causes, countries nowadays have to confront two primary obstacles that result in the lack of literate ability. Firstly, many undeveloped nations do not have enough educational facilities and teachers as well. For instance, some African countries have to struggle for necessaries such as food and water, and therefore, it obviously is unreasonable if we have to allocate more resources compulsorily on education. Secondly, some governments have immersed in consistent wars, so the surge in the number of illiterates is an unavoidable result. Countries that are located in Middle Eastern areas are typical examples. These nations’ citizens have always witnessed long-term bloody riots and even violent terrorisms, consequently, educational infrastructures are not only built up but also are destroyed.

Nevertheless, governments totally can carry out some remedies to alleviate this situation. Firstly, although authorities should dedicate a necessary amount of time and money to promote fundamental living standards, they should take education into consideration. For example, national and local authorities should prioritize expenditure on constructing more temporary schools as a stopgap measure to help their citizens so that they can acquire reading and writing abilities. Secondly, international involvement plays an integral part in countries where wars have continuously occurred. For example, the United Nation should impose more supportive policies to help volunteers to break into fighting areas and establish classes raising the literate rate.

In conclusion, although there are many reasons for the lack of reading and writing skills in some areas, governments completely solve this problems in some ways.