It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imaginations and language skill than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

It is convinced that people who are interested in reading have better imaginations and language skill than people who prefer tellies. While it is clear that there is an abundant amount of TV programmes which seem to be more excited than books, I totally agree with the topic’s point of view

Firstly, from the perspective of human creativity, while it is clear that films have many visual objects, works of literature force us to use our own imagination. Consequently, although people spend excitedly their leisure time on broadcast program, books stimulate our creativity better than ready-made contents on the telly. For example, one of the famous works of literary fiction which is named “Two Thousand Miles Under The Sea” describes an adventure of the characters under the sea. The story continuously broadens audiences’ literary horizons through the awesome description of mysterious creatures under the ocean.

Secondly, in terms of linguistic improvements, if we fall into the habit of reading, books will enrich our range of vocabulary and perfect the way we use them, this is really an incredible benefit which television programmes do not have. For instance, when we enjoy a book, an enormous amount of words are used in many different contexts, and therefore, reading actually provides us with more new words. In addition, reading habit increases the ability of reading over our own written works and even helps us practice meticulousness.

In conclusion, many people believe that reading habit boosts human imaginations and language skill than watching TV. I totally agree with this, and therefore, I think parents should encourage children’s literary appreciation, especially by bedtime stories.