It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imaginations and language skill than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that developing imaginations and language skill is more enhanced by reading rather than watching TV. There are good arguments and both for and against this view, but I believe it depends on different reasons.

I completely agree with the idea that reading stimulates imaginations and language skill. The first prominent justification is that as long as we read, we have to imagine what is happening in the book. When it comes to science fiction books, imagination is necessary to feel the beauty of outer space or the scenario of future technologies. Moreover, there would be a case that the writing style of the author makes a substantial contribution to language skills. For example, reading plays a vital role in improving vocabulary and helping us to imitate the writing style in speaking and writing skills.

However, I believe that watching TV also brings about enhancing our imaginations and language skills. Firstly, images and sounds from TV shows cause people to remember better the linguistic context since the best way to learn a foreign language is aping local people in memorable contexts which are usually exploited in TV shows. Furthermore, pronunciation and intonation in speaking will be significantly improved only when we watch TV because it is true that reading cannot ameliorate pronunciation and intonation. Last but not least, the final reason could be that sci-fi movies are products of the filmmaker’s imaginary which also develop further imaginary of viewers. For instance, Marvel’s movies have a huge success in recent decades as they satisfy our imagination and, as a result, lead us to come back to our imaginary world of childhood.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that reading promotes imaginations and language skill better than watching TV, I believe this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.