International travel is becoming cheaper and cheaper, and more countries are now opening their doors to foreign visitors. Do you think that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Many countries nowadays want to promote their tourism sector, and therefore, governments are opening countries’ doors and offer affordable tourism prices for visitors. Although this trend brings some negative effects, I believe that advantages can outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, the substantial number of international tourists probably leads to some problems. First of all, governments should take environmental issues into consideration. Local ecosystems have to shoulder a heavier burden of garbage from backpackers or exotic visitors unless appropriate interventions are implemented by native residents and authorities as well. Furthermore, many traditional activities can be modified to adapt to commercial purposes, and therefore, local traditions probably are superseded by commercial values instead of original ones.

On the other hand, we cannot deny that the surge in international travel is instrumental in developing countries. Firstly, important attractions which always are thronged with visitors play an integral source of profit in many countries. In Vietnam, both authorities and inhabitants gain a considerable amount of money from exotic tourists who pay a visit to tourism cities such as Da Nang, Hue or Quang Binh. Secondly, opening nation’s doors and offering cheaper fees in order to attract more foreign customers are effective ways to make a name in the international market. Through cultural activities such as dancing or selling traditional handicrafts, indigenous residents can propagate their locations to every corner of the world.

In conclusion, although national and local governments have to solve many negative consequences caused by places which always swarm with global visitors, the advantages of this trend can overwhelm the disadvantages.