Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

In many countries nowadays, people believe that we should completely get meat out of our diet because it is unnecessary to include meat in a healthy diet. Although I partially agree that people gain many dramatic benefits from a vegetarian diet, I believe that there are still many obstacles to propagate this idea.

On the one hand, there are numerous reasons why people should be vegetarian. Firstly, meals without meat really help humans’ body prevent many diseases. For example, vegetarian diets typically are low in fat and rich in fiber, which protect people from metabolic disorders like obesity and even heart diseases. Secondly, vegetables really are abundent source of vitamins and minerals. Celery is a good typical example, which is extremely rich in vitamin A, B, C and even minerals like calcium, potassium and zinc, thereby regulating many diseases, especially gout.

On the other hand, although vegetarian diet is really beneficial, we probably confront with many difficult to spread it out. In terms of cultural values, meat plays an important role in many countries’ culture. For instance, beef is main ingredient to cook Pho, which is one of internationally well-known dishes and is usually present in Vienamese cuisine, so getting completely beef Vietnamese diet seems impossible. From the perspective of nutrition, meat is an important source of energy for humans’ bodies which is really hard to replace, and therefore, most people feel lethargic and unable to do anything if they have to eat merely vegetables.

In conclusion, although it is reasonable that being a vegetarian brings many benefits, I think there are some reasons regarding to nutritional balance and cultural values which prevent people from getting rid of meat.