Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Some findings indicate that the main part of offenders possibly break the rules again after they are released back into society. While there are some reasons for this trend, it can be alleviated in some ways.

People who already finished their custodial sentences whether or not they will continue their illegal activities in the future. Firstly, criminals usually encounter communities’ discrimination because of what they did in the past. Since their own communities reject their efforts to make a new start, they easily turn to offensive fact again. Secondly, the number of criminals returning to crime climbs in some countries because they have no jobs to make ends meet after finishing their verdicts. It is clear that prisoners confront with many obstacles to be recruited, and therefore, if they have no chance to get normal jobs, they easily turn to drug trafficking or theft to earn a living.

However, we can obviously minigate this trend by some interventions. Firstly, governments should raise public awareness to give offenders a chance of rehabilitation back into society. Residents in communities should be generous so that people who had good behaviour during their sentences to live a better life. Secondly, criminals should have opportunities to participate in vocational courses during the custodial period. A large number of people turn to crime because they do not have a job, and therefore, vocational courses are good preparation to help them have a better rehabilitation.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are many people who return to crime due to the society’s discrimination and unemployment, so governments should impose some remedies to prevent them from breaking the laws