Most people are no interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it it costs. How true is this statement? What influences people when they buy food? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is apparent that most customers merely are aware of whether their foods are affordable or not rather than how they are produced. I would argue that it is hard for people to consciously recognise this problem while buying foodstuff, and therefore, it probably leads to some significant influences on purchasers.

It is undeniable that modern citizens are following a fast-pace lifestyle which they have to encounter many deterrents to make ends meet, consequently, people usually prioritize good’s prices during their making-decision, which make them easily ignore other crucial issues such as how they are produced or how much their carbon footprint is. For example, customers prefer allocating their budget on imported foods from Chinese companies because they usually have no difficulties to gain good bargains compared with other manufacturers. From another perspective, we have to accept that it is not easy to have a complete understanding of food production even if customers have a thirst for reliable information about their products. Milk is a typical example of this situation when most people do not know how they are produced. While using milk derived from other animals such as goats or cows is still a well-known topic of controversy, this product is usually broadcast propaganda like a perfect source of protein and nutrition for humans in every corner of the world.

In terms of the impacts of this phenomenon, I believe that this problem is the primary culprit for some negative overcomes. Firstly, people probably are swayed by unreasonable cheap prices of foods and buy them impulsively without launching a full-scale investigation about the products and no matter if they are safe or not. Some companies are found guilty for illegally adding melamine to milk during the milk process aiming to reduce products’ prices for example. Secondly, while environmental degradation is always high on the agenda of authorities, some factories gained a competitive edge relating to price by operating old technologies while processing foods such as discharging directly their chemical waste or by-products into the river or ground to reduce the cost of manufacturing. It is clear that governments should impose many stricter regulations on such companies, though their customers can reach affordable foods.

To sum up, while I agree that there are some reasons why people nowadays fall into the habit of concerning how much they have to spend on their food rather than producing processes, I believe that it brings people to some considerable drawbacks.