Advertising is all around us; it is an unavoidable part of everyone's life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undoubted that people nowadays have immersed in the sea of advertisements, in which some viewpoints conclude in favour of advertising that it is a positive part of our lives. While I partly agree that advertising brings us many benefits, I assume that it also causes some drawbacks.

In terms of advantages, there are some reasons which lead me to agree that advertising has many positive effects. Firstly, it helps companies to promote their products to public. Coca Cola is one of the typical examples, since many advertisements of Coke are usually taken place by celebrity endorsements and broadcasted on TV every day, customers easily catch Coke on public billboards or TVs or magazines so that Coke obviously becomes the best choice in all events like birthdays, marriages and so on. Secondly, an increasing trend of advertising activities enables many people to seek out appropriate vaccancies. It is clear that advertising businesses offer many inspirational and creative jobs which require workers have to flexibly put their knowledge into practice and gain a high salary.

Nevertheless, advertisements also lead customers to many setbacks which negatively influence on their budget and privacy. Firstly, advertising motivates consumers to buy goods impulsively. It is quite familiar with many people nowadays easily spend their money on exorbitant goods without hesitation and then they instantly feel a sense of frustration because they really are unnecessary. Secondly, many companies are found guilty of using illegally customers’ personal information for their commercial purposes. By way of illustration, Facebook seemly springs to our mind when the company usually is accused of abusing users’ information for advertisement and they are punished by hundreds of million dollars.

In conclusion, we have to accept that advertising brings us many benefits related to both the economy and society, however, it is also clear that it also causes many problems for us.