Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is better environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Globalization has occurring drastically more than ever before, and therefore, we nowadays can enjoy a diverse range of food derived from remote regions, however, some opinions think that it is better if we eat domestic food for both environmental and economic reasons. While this trend brings us to some benefits, I believe that its advantages cannot overwhelm the disadvantages.

In terms of advantages, globalization of food obviously leads to some positive outcomes. Firstly, some countries probably consider their traditional cuisine as revenue-generating means to build up their national budget. Australia is a typical example as it easily promote their local fruits such as cherries and kiwis as special exporting products to foreign customers in China or Vietnam. Secondly, humans nowadays can consume numerous types of fruits and veggies that cannot flourish in their locations. Consequently, people in some nations today can totally get accustomed to relying on imported food instead of local crops which typically depend on the seasons.

Nevertheless, this trend also gives a rise of both environmental and economic issues. From an environmental perspective, the surge in international transportations in order to meet the increasing demand of imported foods surely raise food miles, which would result in discharging a huge amount of emissions into the nature. This unexpected outcome would destroy efforts in fighting against global warming and climate change. Furthermore, negative influences on the local economy are inevitable as native companies may be out of their businesses due to a more fiercely competitive market.

In conclusion, although we obviously find out the advantages of using imported food, national and local governments should take its potential disadvantages into considerations.