The best way to resolve international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A large number of solutions are proposed by international experts in order to solve global environmental issues. While I accept that raising fuel prices is also an effective way to fight climate change, I believe that this is not the best measure to alleviate environmental problems.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why the government should raise taxes on the cost of fuel. Firstly, adopting this policy would almost make people less use private means such as cars, motorbikes. Fewer car journeys would mean a reduction in exhaust emissions which contribute to the process of global warming. Secondly, by increasing petrol prices, there would be less dependence on fossil fuel depleting more and more. Thus, I believe that international bodies should exert pressure on countries to raise fuel prices.

On the other hand, I suppose that there are more effective ways to tackle international environmental issues. First, from a transport policy perspective, it is important to introduce restrictions on private vehicles to cut down on emissions. For example, the congestion charge on vehicles in London has improved air quality. Furthermore, there is a need to find and use alternative energy sources like wind power, solar power, hydro power etc. These are clean, renewable energy sources and has no negative effect on our environment.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that raising fuel cost would be a useful measure but this is by no means it is the best solution to deal with a wider range of global environmental problems.