The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that raising the price of fuel is the best way to tackle global environmental issues. While this method is beneficial to some extent, I would argue that it is not the most effective way to alleviate international environmental problems.

On the one hand, making it more expensive to purchase petrol is useful for several reasons. The first one is that by adopting this policy, national authorities will make sure that people would use cars less. This measure means a reduction in the exhaust emissions which are responsible for global warming and greenhouse effects. Secondly, if the price of gasoline is higher, the depletion of natural resources will be reduced. As the world supplies of oil will not last forever so the less we use fossil fuels, the more helpful we are to the environment.

On the other hand, I believe that there are better ways to deal with international environmental issues. Firstly, introducing a restriction on the use of private vehicles must be high on the government agenda. For example, the congestion charge in some countries has made the air pollution decrease significantly. Secondly, it is necessary for the international bodies to allocate resources to the development of alternative energy sources such as wind, solar or tidal energy. In addition, every individual ought to raise their awareness of protecting environment by using their own vehicles as little as possible.

In conclusion, while raising petrol’s price is welcomed in some ways, it seems to me that there are more effective measures to deal with the global environmental issues.