It is argued that raising the price of fuel is the most effective measure to address the problems of the environment. While this approach can potentially reduce the amount of harmful fumes in the atmosphere, I maintain that strict laws and a global awareness campaign would be more feasible solutions.

Undoubtedly, increasing the fuel price can reduce the amount of emissions in the air. In reality, private vehicles release a significant amount of noxious fumes into the air on a daily basis, which contaminates the air. By increasing the cost of fuel, a vehicle driver would need to consider the distance and the frequency of their journeys on the roads. If they need to travel, they might turn to other more effective and greener transportation, including buses or electric bikes. For example, a study published in the journal Environmental Science and Technology found that a 10% increase in gasoline prices led to a 4% reduction in carbon dioxide emissions from passenger cars.

However, increasing the fuel price does not fully address the underlying causes of environmental problems. In reality, environmental issues can stem from various factors, such as industrial waste disposal to the water and land or poor awareness of residents. Therefore, imposing strict laws and penalties for any manufacturers discarding their waste directly into the sea without a treatment system, would serve as an effective deterrent against irresponsible disposal of waste. Additionally, running a world-wide campaign to raise people’s awareness about the importance of environmental protection. For instance, the “ActNow” campaign of the United Nations in 2020 encouraged over 20 million users to take action to reduce their carbon footprint through small changes in their daily lives such as using public buses or subways instead of private cars, reducing the use of plastic bags. As a result, the environment would be cleaner and fresher.

In conclusion, although raising the cost of fuel can deal with a certain part of the environmental issues by discouraging private vehicles, I believe that stricter laws and punishment and a world-wide awareness campaign would be ideal solutions. I am also convinced that once these measures are implemented, the environment-related issues will be dealt with, making a significant contribution to protecting the Earth.