Billions of dollars are spent on space research every year. Instead, this money could be used to improve living conditions of people on Earth. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is beyond question that a huge sum of money is spent on space exploration programs every year. Some people regard it as a waste of funds, since they believe that amount could be invested to upgrade the standards of living for citizens on Earth instead. From my point of view, while space research plays a certain key to the development of mankind, it should not take the priority over other pressing problems facing people daily.

On the one hand, space exploration paves the way for mankind’s long-term existence. Due to the rapid growth of global population, natural resources would soon run out and there would not be enough room for all habitants on Earth, which necessitates the need to find new homeland capable of sustaining human life. Furthermore, human space exploration contributes significantly to the development of various advanced technologies that feed back into the economy and improve people’s lives on Earth. Without space programs, people would not have GPS or accurate weather prediction.

On the other hand, there are innumerable serious issues that require financial support from the government. One current alarming problem is poverty. According to the World Bank, 689 million people are living in extreme poverty with less than $1.9 per day. Therefore, it is urgent that money be expended to provide people with essentials such as clean water and food. What’s more, other spheres such as education, health care and climate change are also in need of pecuniary resources. Government should pay scrupulous attention to those fields in order that human life can sustain until a new planet is successfully detected.

In conclusion, although I acknowledge that the expenditure on space exploration is of enormous benefits, the precedence should be serious matters that human are now encountering.