Both the poor and the rich find accessibility to university education difficult. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that not only the indigent but also the wealthy people find it difficult to get access to university level training. However, while I agree this form of education is mainly hard for the poor to get, I believe the rich can afford it easily because they have enough resources at their disposal to do so.

On the one hand, poor people clearly encounter great difficulties both in gaining admission into undergraduate and postgraduate studies and in maintaining their stay in the university until graduation. The main reason for this is that in most universities in recent times, the cost of university education has skyrocketed with the increase in school-related charges such as admission fees, tuition, cost of student accommodation and prices of academic course materials. This hike has made it more difficult for people from poor backgrounds to afford university level studies without a scholarship or bursary. In addition, poor people generally have little savings to support their daily lives, and if all of this should go into paying for the exorbitant university education, they will be left with nothing to live on. This is why most poor people cannot even dream of proceeding to the university after completing high school.

On the other hand, the rich have sufficient money and resources which makes university education more accessible to them no matter how expensive. With enough funds available to them, the rich can afford not only to pay for the basic university educational requirements mentioned above, but also to acquire additional private lectures and advanced study materials in order to enhance their chances of passing matriculation examinations and increase their general academic performance while in the university. This is something the poor can only dream of. Furthermore, wealthy people have money to send themselves or their children into universities abroad and this, no doubt, greatly enhances their access to this form of education wherever it is available in the world.

From the aforementioned ideas, it is indubitably clear that while the poor have financial constraints in obtaining university training, the rich do not experience the same challenge. I mhope that the cost of university education is reduced globally to make it more accessible to all.