It is argued by many that getting admission in an university is tough for both the wealthy as well as the poor people. I disagree with this notion as the rich have ample resources that makes it comparatively easier for them to get enrolled in an university.

The first step is fulfilling the eligibility criteria by acquiring the passing grades. In order to prepare for the pre-requisite tests, a rich individual has various options available to him. For instance, he could buy the expensive official learning material or get enrolled in some coaching institute that has professional teachers who have in-depth knowledge of these tests. In contrast, the poor depends on the free learning material which is present on the internet and some cannot even pay the expensive entrance exam fees.

The next major step is the university fee which the rich has no problem paying, but it is the poor who again faces hardships in this category. Although, many universities provide considerable scholarships, it is based on merit and not financial status of an individual. Thus, even the rich, who can easily pay the fee, get these scholarships which could have been a life saver for some of the less fortunate. While the only available option for the poor individuals is to take educational loan by keeping some mortgage, some even do not have that luxury and end up losing admission to that university.

In conclusion, I believe when compared to the poor, the wealthy individuals face less struggle to get into the university as they have significant amount of money to pay for the coaching institutes as well as the university fee.