Buying things on the Internet such as books air tickets and groceries is becoming more and more popular Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages

Nowadays people from all different age groups use the internet to shop and manage most of their needs. However, some view this increasing trend of people to shop online as something which could pose some threats to the individual and society in general. In my opinion, the benefits and the disadvantages of online shopping should be further discussed.

First and foremost, internet and its various shopping applications present to every person in this world more choices and alternatives in respect of both money and value. No matter the location of the individual nothing is out of reach. Secondly, most people prefer to buy things online because of its simplicity as concept. All you need to do is to fire up your pc or your smart phone and click to what you want. In this way, people do not have to get dressed or move towards the location of the store, and save a lot of time in this way.

On the other hand, the extended use of the internet even for the simplest purchases, is associated a lot of times with anti-social behavior. Some prefer to avoid the day to day communication with their peers and to remain socially distanced at their home. In addition, buying or selling goods remotely is not always the best choice for two reasons. Firstly, there are products such as clothes that would be better to try them before you purchase them. Secondly, there have been lots of reports of cases of fraud through the internet, where customers have been deceived and bought goods which did not exist.

In conclusion, I believe that online shopping has brought lots of positive developments in our societies. Although instances of fraudulent use of the internet are alarming, we can not deny how much internet has helped us to expand our choices and to save extra time. We should encourage its use, as well as the introduction of new controls and security measures that will minimize any possible threat.