It is argued among some entities that formal clothing is a very important employees’ skill, whereas there are some companies who opine that what is crucial is the work performance. In my opinion, quality of work has to be acquired by employers, because it is the only adjective standard.

On the one hand, many believe that a specific dress code should be highly recommended as employees’ duty. Uniforms do not only determine someone’s personality, but also people’s first judging is based on how we are looking. As a result, superiors would be able to analyze if a worker is as professional as it is required only by the impression of appearance. For example, a recent study found out that multinational companies assess their employees according to whether their appearance is appropriate or not, beyond quality of work. However, clothes would not give significant effect on someone’s quality of work.

On the other hand, there are some organizations who state that job capacity should be prioritized instead of clothing. Employees’ ability does not depend on their clothes, which only aim to impress others. Capability in responsibility and other traits cannot be evaluated through the appearance but only through the personal characteristics. To illustrate this, based on recent studies, some researchers argue that natural talent and hard work will triumph, whether a person is extravagantly dressed or not, affirming that self-care cannot improve job performance.

To sum up, even if firms believe that physical appearance and appropriate dressing outweigh the quality of someone’s work, I strongly believe that the prestige in others’ eyes is only improved by work performance, as the latter is a non-discriminatory characteristic.