Nowadays, it is widely argued whether acquiring items on the internet is a positive development, or if it can affect life on earth in a negative manner. In my opinion, the use of the internet has revolutionized the manner according to which markets work by enabling customers to buy things remotely through their computers, and therefore, by saving them quite a lot of time and money.

There are, however, those who believe that the internet is a dangerous method for purchasing daily staff and are skeptical towards it. More specifically, there are a lot of cases of fraud reported throughout the world, where customers were tricked and spent their money on items that never really existed. For example, a couple of years ago, a huge scam was discovered by French police in Paris. The members of this scam were two hackers who had developed a website pursuant to which they claimed that they operated as an e-shop of Apple and allegedly sold i-phones at a very low price. Their goal was to bait people, and afterwards, seize their money electronically.

Although incidents such as the above are quite alarming, I believe that the advantages of shopping through the internet far exceed the potential dangers associated with its use. In particular, e-commerce gives to buyers the opportunity to compare prices from endless shops located in different parts around the world. For example, the are online applications, like Amazon or Skroutz, that showcase to their users the price at which multiple shop-owners around the globe sell the same item. In addition, goods are sent to the customer’s address by post free of charge. Hence, customers are making the most reasonable choice in terms of both time and money.

In conclusion, I believe that online shopping, despite it being employed hazardously by some, can benefit people in many ways and therefore its respective use should be encouraged.