Cambridge IELTS 14 Test 1 Writing task 2

People have different views about accepting or changing unpleasant circumstances such as poverty and undesirable employment. In my opinion, I think change is a constant thing in life and everyone should strive to change any unwanted condition in which they find themselves.

To begin, some people adjust and accept unpleasant situations because of they are afraid of the outcome of trying to change them. Fear and feeling of uncertainty is the major problem of people who remain in the same bad spots in life. For instance, in the face of unemployment crisis looming in most undeveloped countries, a university graduate in such countries, who struggled for 5years to secure a job in a company, will be reluctant to change this job even if the salary and working conditions are unfavorable. This is because of the fear of not being able to get another job, due to the acceptance of the prevalent unemployment problem in the country. Therefore this fellow will not mind working in this unpleasant environment for a long time.

On the other hand, striving to change a bad condition is possible and this should be the outlook of everyone in life. Firstly, being positive and optimistic about changing ones life condition is important. Secondly, Hardwork, persistent and perseverance pays in the long run, as one will in most instances achieve success in life, if it is pursued with tenacity. For example, an employee who have endured a poor salary package and working conditions can decide to change this trajectory by quitting the job to pursue a career of learning a new skill. This new skill, when learnt properly, could position this fellow for a better job or a better position as a self employed, who can generate a better income and live a more satisfying life.

In conclusion, adjusting to unpleasant circumstances like lack of money and poor living conditions is easy and sometimes could be the best thing to do because of the anxiety and uncertainties that accompany the quest for a change. However, it is much better to strive for change, because with persistence, Hardwork and perseverance, one could achieve the desired success on the long run.