Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam"

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people fro using their cars?

Nowadays, more and more people tend to buy their own cars rather than travelling by taxi or public transportation. That makes our street full of cars and there are no longer any spaces for other means. Because of this situation, many areas in the world become just like “a big traffic jam”.

There are some reasons explain why cars become so common to our life. First of all, people may feel more comfortable and convenient with their own means. They can freely decide what time to set up or can stop at anywhere they want without having to go on route like travelling by bus or train,... Besides, car brings private space for people and their family, it also helps them feel more comfortable and relaxed than staying in crowded bus.

Secondly, we all know that the price of cars has dramatically decreased in many recent years. Therefore, today, everyone can buy their own cars without worrying about how much they cost. That means there are more and more cars appearing on our streets and this situation can result in a lot of serious problems. The emission from car’s motor can cause air pollution and this phenomenon is the main factor of global warming and ice melting in Polar areas. Furthermore, too many cars on the roads explains why congestion become more regularly nowadays.

So, in conclusion, I think that having too many owned cars can cause a lot of negative effects on our life. Thus, government should take more measures to solve this problem such as improving the quality of public transportations, reducing the cost of those means’ tickets and besides, forbidding cars on many main roads in cities center to prevent congestion in rush hours. Just when they do that, our cities may have a chance to be less polluted and more convenient for inhabitants.