car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’

how true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars

Most people would agree that the usage of own means of transport has increased in recent years, leading to a range of problems, particularly in built-up areas. It would appear a number of solutions to confine car usages issued from the government.

Perhaps the major factor here is the traffic congestion due to overuse of private cars. This means that too many people use the existing network, putting a strain on transport capacity, and the bottleneck is inevitable. For example, we see this in most large cities, such as Ho Chi Minh city, where is more than an hour and people are blowing the horns, thus worsening the situation.

Turning to possible solution, one of the best approaches governments should encourage and raise awareness about public transit and slower modes such as cycling and walking among citizens via publicity and public education. Secondly, a further step would be to use legislation to curb the usage of cars. For instance, Singapore is to cap these quantities on its streets and harder to approval from the state to buy new cars. Furthermore, government might fund itself through high taxes from parking users. This amount of money should be invested to improve public infrastructure capacity which incentive locals to absent private transport usage. Many cities around the world do this quite successfully and offer passengers bus transport into the center if they need it.

Overall, the key problem of relying on cars can be addressed through a combination of awareness, target legislation, and high parking fee. Clearly, these solutions should involve coordinated action by individuals and the state