car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past three years that many cities in the world are now one big jam.how true do you think this statement is?what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In last few decades, the trend of owning cars has increased exponentially and has led to massive traffic congestion all around the world. In big cities like London and New York, people have to wait for hours often in traffic jams to reach their destination. However, stringent financial restrictions on buying cars and better alternatives for travelling from one place to another can effectively control this problem.

Certainly, an increased number of personal vehicles has become a major issue and it is largly due to poor government policies regarding taxation and lack of public transport. Since public does not have access to safe buses and buying a car is afforsable, people naturally prefer having a car to avoid all the hassle. Needless to say, this has led to excessive traffic on the roads and even results in frequent accidents.

The best method to deal with this problem is to impose hefty taxes on purchase of cars and terrif duties on their imports. This would make cars difficult to afford for masses and push them to use alternatives like cycling, walking, and public buses. For example, in 2017, Japan government made a law that buying car required paying 30% government sales tax (GST), which caused a sharp decline in car sales in the course of only two months. Moreover, money collected from these taxes can be used to construct wider roads to further ensure its smooth flow.

Another solution is investing in public transport and making it safe and accesible to public. Research suggests that a lot of people do not want to buy a car but they are forced to spend this money because there are no decent commute options on their route. So, if public trains or metros are available on all major city routes, the problem of car ownership can be significantly avoided. This also requires other steps like provision of better buses and trained drivers to drive public transport. In countries where metro accidents are fewer, for instance, people prefer travelling by it rather than using their own cars and worrying about parking space.

To conclude, large number of cars have caused massive traffic problem in recent decades but it can be dealt with by making cars expensive and improving public transport. However, imposing taxes is undoubtedly the best solution as it has an added benefit of extra money in treasury of government.