Children from age 7-11 now spend more time watching television and/or playing video games than before. What are effects of this on children families and society? What are possible solutions to this problem?

children are more agile, impulsive, fun-loving and do various activities for amusement but due to urbanization, juveniles kill most hours glued to the idiot box or video games on the cost of playing or socializing. there is no doubt saying the fact, it is detrimental for both family as well as society. this essay provides clearer view on the effects and provides some possible solutions to tackle this problem.

To begin with, it is rightly said that ‘Television has changed the child from an irresistible force to an immovable object.’ there are multifarious negative effects of passive activities such as watching tv and playing video games. Firstly, it hampers holistic development and social relations. To enumerate, 7-11 years is a crucial period of childhood after which children step into adolescence. this is the time when children develop the maximum, physically as well as mentally. The more time children spend on watching tv and playing video games, the less time they have for study¬ing, exploring, playing and interacting with parents and friends. As a result communication has come down drastically within the family and even among children of the neighbourhood. In addition, such amusements put health at stake, as excessive tv viewing can result in obesity as kids are in¬active and tend to eat junk food while watching tv. Consequently, it turns children into couch potatoes. What is more, violence on tv should not be watched by children.

it is irrefutable that tv is one of the best ways to entertain and inform and even playing video games introduces children to technology which is the need of the hour. however, all this is good in moderation as there are lots of active ways of entertainment such as playing games or doing sports, which are actually much healthier. Moreover, children need interaction with the family and society for their holistic development.

The solutions are simple but the onus is largely on the parents. they should give quality time to their children and limit their tv viewing hours and time to play video games. outdoor activities should be encouraged and neighbourhood societies should be formed where children can play outdoor games with each other. Parks should be maintained properly so that children have a safe place to play outdoors.

To summarize, there is no doubt that, television and video games, in moderation, can be a good thing. however, excess of everything is bad and therefore parents should set viewing limits to ensure children do not spend too much time watching tv.