Children being brought up in single-family. What are the causes and the effects.

Nowadays, there is a truth that the rate of single-families in our society is increasing remarkably. A question is raised about whether children develop comprehensively. This essay will examine both the causes of this phenomenon and its effects on children.

In the first place, there are two main reasons for single-parent families including divorce and the parents’ choice. The first roof is originated from divorce because when parents split up their children have to live with one of them. It means that divorce leads to families which have only a mother or a father to take care of their kids. Another cause of the issue is parents’ option. It is undeniable currently many people opt for becoming single mothers or single fathers. The development and changes of society now make people more independent. They do not want to depend on other neither in family nor in society. As a result, they choose the lifestyle they really want and many of them decided to raise their children on their own.

Regarding the effect of this issue on children, this type of families may influence on children’s characteristics and their psychology. Firstly, children living in single-parent families are more likely to independent and confident compared to those in two-parent families. The reason is that thay are taken care of by only their mother or father; therefore, they have to look after themselves more. This help them become more mature in their life. However, these families may bring about detrimental impacts on children’ psychology. A research conducted by National Institute of Society indicated that 90 percent of kids living in divorced families felt vulnerable and lonely. Some of them even have problems with socializing network building.

In conclusion, one-parent-absence families cause by two chief reason such as parents’ divorce and their option and this issue have both positive and negative effects on children. From my perspective, parents should take consideration carefully before deciding what kind of families for their children.