Children should always follow their parents advice.

It is thought that children should always adhere strictly to advice given by their parents. Personally, I partially agree with this view.

On the one hand, a number of parental advice would help develop children’s beneficial character traits, allowing them to grow up as good members of society. Children are not born to know what is acceptable and unacceptable behavior. Therefore, it may not be impossible for children to misbehave without their parents’ constructive suggestions. For example, most children are frequently taught during childhood to share their favorite toys with their friends, to always tell the truth, to treat others with respect, to help those who are less advantaged or needy people, and consequently on. This in turn may shape caring, thoughtful, responsible and well-mannered human beings when they reach adulthood. For this reason, children could benefit greatly from listening to their parents.

Nevertheless, I believe that children should not ask for consultation with parents before they make any crucial decision. To illustrate, when it comes to educational or career choices, it may be children who have the potential to make better decisions than anyone else. This is due to the fact a number of parents frequently wish their sons and daughters to follow in their footsteps. Therefore, they tend to suggest that their children choose a career path about which they may be not really passionate. In my view, children should follow their heart when making vital choices in order to gain the greatest amount of satisfaction and fulfillment.

In conclusion, while heeding to advice provided by parents can be seen as beneficial to children’s personality development, I am convinced that for their own sake, children should make their own decisions by themselves.