Children should always follow their parents' advice.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Someone argues that children should always follow their parent's advice. In my opinion, I don't completely agree with it. I will give some reasons below.

Parents' advice is good for their children. Parents always want the best things for their children. Parents also have a longer life and more knowledge, so they can suggest valuable advice. Children often live not to have enough time to make good decisions. For example, when you were ten years old and you needed to buy a computer for learning online. At that time, you needed to follow your parent's advice because they could choose a computer better than you. Children need to listen to their parent's advice carefully before deciding anything.

On the other hand, some knowledge and experience of a parent aren't suitable in the current world. There is a generation gap between children and their parents, so parents' knowledge sometimes is outdated and their advice for children isn't good. For example, in the past, Vietnamese often said that the first was the medical doctor, and the second was the pharmacist. That sentence refers to working in those sectors used to have good income and good position in society. But, now, an employee in the information technology sector gets a job with a higher income and larger opportunity. If children are 18 years old and want to choose a subject university for the future, they not only listen to their parents' advice but also need to search for information about current job opportunities.

I believe that children should consider their parents' advice seriously. At the same time, they also need to analyze the current condition carefully before making any decision. In my opinion, children should to follow their parents' advice selectively.