Children spend too much time watching TV nowadays. What are problems and solutions?

There are various way to entertain in leisure time. Some people indulge in workout. Other take up playing instruments. As I see, most children spend their free time to lie-in and watch TV. It will be a problem if watching TV take so much of their time.

To start with, I will mention some demerits of this problem. Firstly, television can be addictive. There are so many things on TV that kids like: favourite cartoons, shows, etc. And it really hard for them to stop watching, which make them stay up late at night. Secondly, we have already know that it is not good for our health if we spend too much time on digital devices, one of which is TV screen. Staring at screen for hours can affect children’s eyes in a bad way. If your kid is watching TV constantly without giving his eyes any break or if he is watching from a closer distance, he is likely to suffer from eyesight problem. Studies have shown that, children who spend too much time lying and watching TV instead of doing physical activities are more likely to be overweight. Moreover, if parents do not have time to watch TV with their children, they will not know what their children is watching, whether it is suitable or not. As a result, some unsuitable scene, such as violence scene, can build up behavior problems.

However, television still have some merits. Besides unfitting thing, there are so many wonderful things for children to learn. Television provides a window into the world as through media, kids can explore places, animals, or things that they couldn’t see otherwise. Many show deliver humane messages so that children can develop their worldview. Television also encourage children’s imagination and creativity.

In conclusion, I think children should watching TV under parents’ control. Time to watch must be restricted, programs must be chosen. Watch TV with your children and do not allow them to watch in meals. Be their example and reward them for good behavior. It is up to the parents, caregivers, and educators in their lives to ensure that kids’ viewing experiences are enriching and not damaging.