Cities are often seen as places of opportunity, but there are also some major drawbacks that exist on the living of inhabitants. In my opinion, governments could do much more to enhance the quality of life for residents.

The main problem for anyone who hopes to migrate to a large metropolis is that the cost of living is likely higher than it's in a small village. This is because they have to pay higher prices for housing, traffic and even food. Another is that high crime and growing disparity between the wealthy and the poor. Furthermore, air pollution is gradually increasing to an alarming level because of emissions from vehicles and industrial zones.

The result is that the city could be unhealthy and stressful with overcrowded conditions.

However, there are various solutions for the government could take to tackle these problems. Firstly, they could subsidize money in the building social housing, providing free education to reduce the cost of living. Secondly, the heavy and huge vehicles should be banned during rush hours to control traffic problem and polluted air. In Ho Chi Minh city, for example, the government has launched the law prohibited car entering the centres of the city from 5 P.M to 10 P.M to curb the traffic jam.

In conclusion, Governments should implement a range of measures to enhance the standards of living for citizens.