Companies should encourage employees who work in a high position to leave at the age of 55 in order to give opportunities to the new generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is a common practice conducted by HR (Human Resources) departments in most western companies to substitute senior staff for younger ones. This policy might be questionable since HR managers favor new ideas and enthusiasm over experience. I, as a recent graduate student, support the practice because it is a natural process of ageing.

Japan management can be considered to be the most efficient and reliable than other types of management. It is unlikely to see a young in a top manager position in Japanese companies since the positions are occupied by experienced senior employees who have passed through many economic crises and accustomed to intense competitive markets. Therefore, Japanese entities such as Toyota, Sony, Mitsubishi, etc. are often found among the world’s top ranked companies. Nevertheless, markets and industries have significantly changed compared to the last century. Nowadays organizations run by young managers ensure niches in industries and successfully compete with the giant companies. This phenomenon is explained with the fact that young top managers are full of new and audacious ideas which contribute in their success.

Most senior ex-employees who used to work in high positions in companies claim that they have left little time to enjoy the life. Top managers tend to resign at their late 60’s or even 70’s after devoting youth and a great majority of time to the companies they worked. Consider the fact that in most countries the lifespan is 75 years, thus, those managers approximately have 5 to 10 years. This time might not be enough for enjoying with ones’ families. Therefore, it would be humane to encourage top managers to retire at age of 55 so they could have more time to devote to their families.

Encouraging employees in high positions to leave at the age of 55 can be beneficial for both the employees and their successors since the seniors can have more time for family, and the successors can bring innovation.