Computers are being used more and more in education.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Technology is becoming to play a more centralized role in our lives, and now it has been increasingly used in classrooms too. This essay will highlight both the merits and demerits of using smart classes and will argue that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

To begin with the positives, computers make the learning process an enjoyable experience for learners. The reason for this is that when students see the audio-visual related to a topic, they can grasp the subject easily. For instance, if students are given a lecture about the working of an internal combustion engine without any illustrations, they may not be able to comprehend the topic thoroughly. In contrast, audio-visual lessons would the subject more interesting and this would make the learning process an enjoyable experience. In addition to this, pupils can learn about any topic they want at the touch of a button. For example, pupils can acquire knowledge about any topic from Wikipedia website, which helps them to broaden their horizons.

However, there are certain disadvantages of this approach; eye related illnesses are one of the most significant issues that computer users may face. To illustrate, staring for longer duration can cause issues such as dry eyes and short sightedness. According to a recent study done by UCLA Medical Center, the cases of myopia and hyper myopia are increasing among teenagers due to sitting in front of computers for extended periods of time. Additionally, handwriting of the students is more likely to be affected as most of the assignments are typed rather than hand-written.

To conclude, although there are certain drawbacks of using smart classes in education, these pale in comparison to the advantages computers provide. In my opinion, the ability to acquire knowledge from all around the globe at the touch of a button outweighs any and all demerits.